Jambalaya Over Quinoa

Location: San Diego, CA

While everyone’s out catching Pokemons and shopping the #nsale, I’m over here doing shoeventory and trying to figure out how to make my food a little healthier.  What’s shoeventory, you ask?  I’d like to think I was clever and came up with the term, which means an inventory of shoes, but I’m sure I didn’t.  There were already some posts with that hashtag…. darn! So on to that health tip note – I made Jambalaya and put it over plain Quinoa.

13769464_10210082437126150_8087560091209569162_n

If you follow me on IG (@minceandmingle) then you already know what I’ve come to realize: 1. Too many black and brown/camel/cognac colored shoes 2. Need some new shoes 3. Need some color in my life.  I guess I should be shopping more of that #nsale. I say more because I did get in a little bit of that sale. Those black and cognac colored flats were a part of the #nsale.  But alright, you didn’t come to hear about my “99 problems but a shoe ain’t one” (well, it is), so let’s get to that Jambalaya.

IMG_20160714_202015
Cajun Seasoning Mix: White Pepper, Cayenne Pepper, Garlic Powder, Kosher Salt, Paprika, Onion Powder
IMG_20160714_202328
Veg Ingredients: Garlic, Mushrooms, Bell Peppers, Onions
IMG_20160714_203050
Liquid Ingredients: EVOO, White Wine, Chicken Broth
IMG_20160715_100002
Meaty Ingredients: Chicken + Shrimp

To start off, you’ll need to gather all of your ingredients.  I like to make the Cajun Seasoning at home so I can control the amount of salt that goes in.  I’m not huge on salt so, when I can make my own seasoning of anything, I will. It’s just White Pepper, Cayenne Pepper, Garlic Powder, Kosher Salt, Paprika, and Onion Powder. Next, get the veggies chopped up.  I used, Garlic, Mushrooms, Red and Yellow Bell Peppers, and Onions. Then get the liquid stuff together: EVOO (as the good ‘ole Rachael Ray would say), White Wine, and Chicken Stock (I used the bullion mixture instead). And now the meat.  I used cooked Chicken and Shrimp. Although some of these ingredients aren’t in the normal Jambalaya that I make, I decided to use them anyway because they’re what I had on hand. 

IMG_20160715_100115
Seasoning added to Chicken & Shrimp.

Heat up the oil in a pan over medium-high heat, then toss the Chicken and Shrimp in.  Add about a 1/4 Tsp of the seasoning in and stir around until it’s completely mixed. Since I’m using cooked meat, I’m not going to get as much of the fond (burnt crust from cooking) on the pan, so I’m doing the cooking process completely different from my normal way. I’m adding the seasoning to the cooking process instead of mixing it into the ingredients prior. This is in hopes that the crust I’m looking for will form.  Once the seasoning is incorporated, take the meat off the pan and set aside.

IMG_20160715_100208
Onions added. Woot Woot! Fond created.
IMG_20160715_100235
Bell Peppers added.
IMG_20160715_100256
Garlic Added.

Do you see that Onion picture?  Super stoked!!!! The fond that I was looking for was created.  So let’s keep moving. Once the Onion sweats out, add the Bell Peppers and cook it down until it’s starts to soften up.  Then add the Garlic.  I don’t like to add the Garlic too early in the process because it starts to taste bitter once it’s been cooked for too long.

Next we add the Mushrooms (can you tell I really had to use the mushrooms up?) and mix it in to the rest of the veggies.  Then sprinkle in about 1/2 Tsp of the seasoning and stir it in and cook until the Mushrooms start to soften up.

Now we add the wine, and scrape up that yummy fond that’s going to add a lot of flavor. I am DROOLING!

Alright, now on to the home stretch!  Some people my frown upon the way I do this, but I do it anyway and I have no really good reason for it.  I add a Tsp of the Bullion to the cooked veggies, cook it all in, then I add the water to create the broth. I guess I’m roasting it? Who knows.  

If the sauce is runny, make a slurry (cornstarch and cold water) and mix it in. We’re looking for a thickness of a gravy so be careful with that slurry.  It’s always a toss up on whether or not I need to add the slurry when I make Jambalaya.  Sometime the sauce comes out thick and sometimes it doesn’t, so I play it by ear… or mouth. Stir it up, add the meat back in, mix it all up again, then give it a taste.  If it’s not spicy enough, add some more of the seasoning and keep adding until it’s at the spiciness level of your liking. And that’s it!

IMG_20160715_101336

I used the whole spice mixture.  I like to live life on the edge and go all spicy crazy! This is coming from the person who used to carry a bottle of Costco sized Tobasco Sauce in my purse. But then I got pregnant, so that had to go away quickly…. Ok. So fill a bowl up with some Quinoa and top it off with that yummy Jambalaya. If you give this a try, definitely let me know what you think, and Instagram it with the hashtag #MMRecipes. Until next time….

Jambalaya Over Quinoa

  • Servings: 4
  • Print

IMG_20160715_101336

Cajun Seasoning:
1/2 Tsp White Pepper
1/2 Tsp Cayenne Pepper
1/2 Tsp Kosher Salt
1/2 Tsp Paprika
1/4 Tsp Garlic Powder
1/4 Tsp Onion Powder

Combine all ingredients into a small bowl or container and set aside. Done!

Jambalaya:
Cooked Quinoa
2 Tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil (EVOO)
1 C Cooked Chicken
1 C Cooked Shrimp
1/2 C Onion, Diced
1/2 C Red Bell Peppers, Diced
1/2 C Yellow Bell Peppers, Diced
1 Clove of Garlic, Minced
1 C Mushrooms, Sliced or Quartered
1/4 – 1/2 C White Wine
1 C Chicken Broth or 1 Tsp Better than Bullion to 1 C Water
Slurry (1 Tbsp Cornstarch, 2 Tbsp Cold Water)

-Heat up the EVOO in a large pan over Med-high heat.
-Add the Chicken and Shrimp to the pan. Stir to mix in with the oil and heat up.
-Add in 1/4 Tsp of the Cajun Seasoning and stir until thoroughly combined (really try to build that crust on the bottom)
-Remove the Meat mixture and set aside.
-Add the Onion and cook to let it sweat out. It should start to look translucent.
-Add in the Bell Peppers and cook until it starts to soften.
-Add in the Garlic and cook until fragrant, careful not to burn. About 30 seconds.
-Add in the Mushrooms and stir to incorporate.
-Sprinkle in 1/2 Tsp of the Cajun Seasoning and stir until incorporated.
-Pour in the White Wine to deglaze the pan and start to scrape the crust formed at the bottom of the pan.
-Pour in the Chicken Broth, or if using the Bullion, cook in 1 Tsp of Bullion, then add in 1 cup of water.
-Bring to a boil and let broth reduce. It will take about 5 – 10 minutes.
-If the broth didn’t thicken up, create the slurry and pour in a little at a time. Be sure to stir and gauge the thickness.
-Add the Meat Mixture back in stir to incorporate.
-Taste and add more Cajun Seasoning to your liking.
-Turn off the heat and serve over a bowl of cooked Quinoa.


Leave a Reply

