Grilled Pizzas… It’s not that weird.

Location: San Diego, CA

Have you noticed the Wood Fire Pizza Oven craze going on lately?  Well, I’m pretty sure it’s not a new craze, but it sure seems like it to me. Kind of like that whole Pokemon thing.  So annoying but hey, people are going outside…. Anyway, I’ve been noticing a lot of this build-your-own Pizza, wood fire styled restaurants popping up everywhere.  There’s Project Pie, Pieology, Pie Five, and so many more.  I’ve only been to Project Pie in Hillcrest and totally love it.  So the idea kind of came to me to make it at home myself.  Dough and all.

IMG_20160710_095145

After I made the dough, separated it out, and let it rise, I rolled out 4 pizza crusts.  Once I was done with that, I heated up my BBQ to medium heat, and greased the racks up with some oil.  I just rolled up an paper towel semi-soaked in oil and grabbed them with some tongs and greased away.  Once that is done, place the pizza dough on the grill and let it cook for about 2 minutes or so then take it off, uncooked side facing down.  The sauce and toppings will go on the side that was facing down on the grill.

***If you’re wondering why I semi-cook one side first, well then have no fear.  I don’t always do things without a purpose.  The first time I did this, I just created the Pizza and didn’t cook one side first.  That was not a good idea.  The cheese and toppings started to burn and the crust wasn’t even cooked all of the way.  Soggy dough pizza = no good pizza.  And that my friends, is why we semi-cook one side first.  I hope you learned something there.***

IMG_20160710_095356

My son was having a playdate the day I was doing this so I whipped up some toppings and laid them all out so we could all build our own and then share.  Sharing is caring!  For our pizzas, I put out sautéed mushrooms, ham, caramelized onions, diced red bell peppers, salami slices, cheese, pineapples, pizza sauce, olives, olive oil, basil and some diced chicken. You will need to brush the pizza with some olive oil first (I don’t know why.  That’s how they do it at Project Pie, so that’s what I’m doing here), then lay down the pizza sauce. Next, pile on the toppings and place back on the grill.

IMG_20160710_095449

Keep an eye on the grill because it doesn’t take very long to get this next step completed.  It took about 3-4 minutes for everything to melt and the dough to finish cooking through.  Once the is done, take the pizza off the grill, slice it up, and eat away.  I hope you all give this a try.  It was really fun to do and it felt oh so summery.  Until next time….

Grilled Pizzas

  • Servings: 4-8
  • Print

IMG_20160710_095449

1 Pkg Dry Active Yeast
1 Tbsp Sugar
1 1/3 C Water (105ºF – 110ºF)
1/4 C Non-Fat Dry Milk
1/2 Tsp Salt
2 Tbsp Vegetable Oil
4 C Flour
Olive Oil Cooking Spray

-The yeast will first need to be activated: Put the yeast, 1/2 tbsp of sugar, and 1/3 cup of the water into a large bowl. Stir and let sit for about 2 minutes. It will start to look foamy.
-Next, add the dry milk, the rest of the sugar, salt, and water. Let it sit and get foamy for about another minute or two.
-Stir in the oil, then with a wooden spoon, mix in the flour, about a cup at a time.
-Once the flour is pretty much incorporated, turn the dough onto a lightly floured surface and knead for a good 10 minutes. You’ll know it’s ready when you lightly press on the dough and it springs back back up.
-At this point, you can either separate the dough or leave it as a whole to rise. Whichever way you decide, you’ll need to place the dough into a lightly oiled bowl, spray the edges of the dough with the cooking spray, then cover the bowl with a tea towel for 1 to 1/2 hours in a warm area.
-Once the dough has risen, heat up the grill to a medium heat and lightly grease the grates.
-Roll the dough out and brush it with some olive oil.
-Place the oiled side down on the grill and let cook for about 2 minutes or until the top side starts to bubble up.
-Remove the dough from the grill, grilled side up.
-Spoon some pizza sauce on the grilled side of the dough and place your desired toppings on top.
-Return the pizza to the grill and let cook for another 3-4 minutes or until the dough is cooked through.
-Remove from Grill, slice up, eat, and enjoy!


Leave a Reply

