Cauliflower Pizza Crust

Location: San Diego, CA

Oh what a whirlwind of a weekend it has been.  Took off for a short family vacation and sh*t just kind of hit the fan with work.  All is ok though, no one got hurt.  We’ll get through it.  As for the vacation?  It was a lot of fun, but man am I old.  Or something other than old because the older people had more energy that I did.  Which is probably why I should start making more healthy alternatives to food and cooking, like this Cauliflower Pizza Crust  I made about a week ago.

IMG_20160417_155321

These are just the basic ingredients for the crust, itself.  The pizza sauce and toppings are all added later, after the crust has cooked.

Now, here comes the fun part.  I bought this Food Processor on Amazon, around Black Friday time.  I was so excited because, all the cooking show chefs have one, so why not?!?! I broke this baby out and popped it’s cherry…err…cauliflower.  Anyway, back to the script.  Break the cauliflower down into smaller florets and pulse until it becomes the consistency of rice.

IMG_20160417_155017

Next, heat the cauliflower (uncovered) in a microwave safe bowl, for about 5 minutes. Let it cool down for probably about another 5 minutes because this next step is not going to be fun with hot and steamy liquid.

Pour the microwaved (hopefully cooled) cauliflower into a towel or cheese cloth and ring and squeeze and mash and whatever you can to get all the excess liquid out.  Don’t get lazy because it’s crazy how much liquid comes out, and you’re going to want to get as much out as possible, otherwise you’ll have a soggy crust that probably won’t form.

Once all the liquid has been squeezed out, add the rest of the ingredients along with the cauliflower, into a bowl and mix it until it start to form a “dough.”

IMG_20160417_154434

Take that ball of down and flatten it down on some parchment paper or a pizza pan.  I’d be sure to spray some cooking spray or grease it down so the crust doesn’t stick.  Form into a circle or what ever shape you please, then stick it in a 500ºF preheated oven for about 10-15 minutes. I ended up flipping it over at about 10 minutes and letting it cook on the other side for about 5 more minutes.

IMG_20160417_154417

Once the cauliflower pizza crust is cooked, then you begin to add your ingredients.  The crust was actually really good and I could probably eat it as is.  Since I was feeding this to my 3 year old, I decided to proceed with the rest of the pizza process.

IMG_20160417_154353

Slather on the pizza sauce, add the cheese, and any other toppings. Pop the oven on broil and keep an eye on the pizza.  Just broil until the cheese melts, otherwise you’ll have a hot burnt mess on your hands.  That’s no fun.

IMG_20160417_154329

Once the cheese has melted, take the pizza out of the oven, slice it up, and feed it to all who will eat it.  My 3 year old gobbled it up and didn’t even know the difference.  He told me it was “deeeewicious!” So if you’re looking for a yummy carb-free option, definitely give this recipe a try.  Until next time……

Cauliflower Pizza Crust

  • Servings: 1 Personal Sized Pizza
  • Print

IMG_20160417_154329

1 Small to Medium Sized Head of Cauliflower – should yield 2 to 3 cups once processed
¼ C Shredded Parmesan cheese
¼ C Mozzarella Cheese
1 Egg
¼ Tsp Salt
½ Tsp Garlic Salt
½ Tsp Italian Seasoning
1 C Marinara Sauce (For Pizza Topping)
2 C Mozzarella Cheese (For Pizza Topping)

-Preheat oven to 500ºF.
-Remove the stems from the cauliflower and cut into chunks.
-Place the cauliflower into a food processor and pulse it until it resembles the texture of rice.
-Microwave the processed cauliflower uncovered in a microwave safe bowl for approximately 4-5 minutes on high.
-Remove it from the microwave and allow it to cool for at least 4-5 minutes.
-Place the cauliflower in a towel and squeeze as much liquid out as possible.
-Combine the cooked cauliflower, egg, garlic, cheese, and seasonings.
-Stir until a dough texture forms.
-Spread the cauliflower mixture out onto lightly greased parchment paper or a pizza pan in the shape of a pizza crust.
-Bake the crust for approximately 10-15 minutes or until golden (I flipped mine 10 minutes in and 5 minutes on the other side).
-Remove it from the oven and add Marinara sauce and Cheese.
-Turn the oven onto Broil.
-Place the pizza back in the oven and bake for about 2-5 minutes until the cheese melts.


4 thoughts on “Cauliflower Pizza Crust

  1. I have made this pizza before, but the crust just did not work. Yours looks amazing! I am going to try it again. Glad I found your website, I look forward to reading more! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks, Kristy. I really appreciate it. I think the trick is to really squeeze the excess liquid out and I flipped my crust over half way through the baking process. Let me know how it turns out.

      Like

  2. You literally saved my diet. I was going to google a cauliflower pizza doe recipe but got lazy and was going to pick up a pizza for dinner tonight lol. It’s a sign! I must stick to my diet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

