Chicken Tortilla Soup…For My Soul

Location: San Diego, CA

So….that salad kick totally went out the door.  I have a tendency to go the opposite direction when I tell myself I need to do something or cut something out.  Human nature or my nature, I guess.  Whatever it is, it lead me back to my Chicken Tortilla Soup.  Actually, it was the El Niño rain.  Yup, it’s a Mexican storm so I’m making Mexican food.  And it was goooooood……

I start off by bringing about 4 or 5 cups of water to a boil.  Add a chicken breast to the water, and let it cook for about 20 minutes or until it’s cooked through (no seasonings needed because there’s going to be so much flavor with everything else). Once it’s cooked through, remove the chicken and start to shred it.  Make sure you don’t dump the liquid though, because we’re going to use it.

Add about 2 tablespoons on the chicken bouillon to the chicken water and stir it up and bring it back to a boil.  Then we’re going to open up all the canned goods, leave the garlic to the side, and dice up the onion.  Speaking of that onion – check out the growth on mine.  That’s just nuts.  I guess with good storage, you can make them last a while.

Once the broth starts to boil, add the diced onions, and start dumping in all of the canned ingredients along with their juices, and shredded chicken.  I used a mild diced green chile this time because I was going to attempt to feed this to my 3 year old, but let’s face it – It’s not pizza, so that was a no go.

After everything has been dumped in and brought back to a boil, smash that garlic and throw it in the pot as well.  We’ll fish it out later.  I do this because I think the garlic has a funny taste when it sits in the soup for too long, so I toss it in for flavor and take it out before it gets that taste.  And that’s pretty much it.

IMG_20160308_213333

Top it off with some Tortilla chips, diced jalapeños, cilantro, and a squeeze of some lime.  I omitted the sour cream to keep this a little lite.  I think that was simple enough for us all.  Until next time…

Chicken Tortilla Soup

  • Servings: 6
  • Time: 30mins
  • Print

IMG_20160308_213333
4 Cups Water
1 Large Chicken Breast
2 Tbsp Chicken Better Than Bouillon
1 Can (14.5oz) Mexican Style Stewed Tomatoes
1 Can (15oz) Black Beans
1 Can (15.25oz) Corn
1 Medium Can Diced Green Chiles
1/2 Yellow Onion, Diced
1 Garlic, Smashed
Toppings: Cilantro, Diced Jalapeños, Tortilla Chips, Lime

-Bring 4 cups of water to a boil.
-Add the Chicken Breast to the water and boil for about 20 minutes or until cooked.
-Remove the Chicken from the water and save the liquid.
-Shred the Chicken and leave to the side.
-Add the Chicken Bouillon to the water, stir, and bring back to a boil.
-Add the onions, the rest of the canned ingredients along with their juices, and the shredded chicken.
-Bring back to a boil then add the smashed garlic.
-Let everything simmer for about 5 minutes, then fish the garlic out (optional), and you’re done.
-Garnish with your choice of toppings.


Leave a Reply

