Peppered Steak & Mushroom Pasta

Location: San Diego, CA

So yesterday was #NationalMargaritaDay.  Yeah – I didn’t have one.  I would’ve loved one, but I was too #Hangry.  Drinking on an empty stomach and me don’t mix well, so….. I scoured Pinterest and what caught my eye?  Well, what other than Elizabeth’s Edible Experience‘s Steak Tips with Peppered Mushroom Sauce.  And why did it catch my eye?  It said it was pretty fast.  FAST!  Just what I needed.  Although I made some adjustments here and there, I think they still turned out pretty decent.  I’m excited for what it will taste like today….

First – gather the ingredients: Linguine, Salt, Pepper, Worcestershire Sauce, Butter, Onion, Garlic, Flour, Beef Broth, Mushrooms, and Top Sirloin.  The original recipe calls for Thyme Sprigs, but you know what? I have no Thyme.  Get it?  Haha.  I crack myself up.  Maybe I’m the only one laughing.

You’ll also want to get a pot of water boiling from the get go as well.  Salt the water from the get go so that the pasta has some flavor.  Once the water boils, add the Linguine, stir every so often, and just let cook, then drain when done. ***Quick Tip – Place a wooden spoon over the top of the pot while it boils and it will prevent the water from bubbling over.***

4

Next, slice up the Mushrooms, mince the Garlic, and dice the Onion.  Come to think of it – the original recipe calls for a Shallot instead of an Onion as well.  I didn’t have a Shallot, so Onion it was.  The only difference (I think) is that a Shallot is a little sweeter. At least that’s what I heard Bobby Flay say the other day.

Ok, so I totally messed this part up but it still worked out fine.  You’re supposed to brown the meat first, but I got all cook happy and added the onions first.  What you’re supposed to do is brown the meat first, remove, add some butter, then add the onions.  Be sure to season the meat with some salt and pepper first.  Makes a total difference in flavor.

Once the onions start to cook a little, add the mushrooms, and cook until it starts to wilt a little.  Add the garlic and stir for a few more seconds.  At this point, you’ll add in the Worcestershire Sauce.  I’m almost a “Pro” now so I’m good with the eyeballing.

Stir everything together, then sprinkle with the flour.  ***Be sure to sprinkle the flour on and not dump it on.  It makes it so much easier to cook the flour down and not have it clump.*** Once the flour cooks down, stir in the beef broth and make sure to stir it constantly when pouring.  I used a beef broth base, so make sure to prepare that mix ahead of time and also be sure it’s warm.  At this point, you’ll also want to season with Salt and Pepper to your liking.

When the sauce starts to thicken, return the beef back to the sauce, and mix it in.  Get all the juices from the meat in there too.  Then add the pasta and start tossing until it’s all coated.  The original recipe used egg noodles and the sauce was poured over the noodles instead of mixing it in.  I like my pasta mixed, so you know what?  That’s what I did.

15

And that’s it.  There you have it – Peppered Steak & Mushroom Pasta.  If you like some spice, then sprinkle some crushed red peppers on top.  I hope you enjoy!  Until next time…

Peppered Steak and Mushroom Pasta

  • Servings: 6
  • Time: 30mins
  • Print

Ingredients:
1 Box Linguine
1 Tbsp Cooking Oil
1 Lb Top Sirloin Steak, cubed
1 Tbsp Butter
2 Tbsp Onions, diced
1 (10-ounce) Pkg Baby Bella Mushrooms, sliced
1 Tsp Garlic, minced
1 Tbsp Worcestershire Sauce
3 Tbsp All Purpose Flour
1 1/2 C Beef Broth
Black pepper
Salt

– Bring a pot of water to a boil and season with salt.
-Add the Linguine and cook following the instructions on the package.
-Add oil to a pan heated on Med-High Heat.
-Season the meat with salt and pepper, then brown on all sides, careful not to overcook.
-Remove the meat from the pan, add the butter, then the onions.
-Let the onions seat out, then add in the mushrooms.
-Once the mushrooms start to wilt, add in the garlic and stir for a few more seconds.
-Pour in the Worcestershire Sauce and stir until all combined.
-Sprinkle on the flour and cook it down.
-Pour in beef broth, making sure to stir constantly.
-Add salt and pepper and taste to make sure it’s seasoned to your liking.
-Once the sauce thickens, add the meat back in and combine.
-Add the linguine back in and toss to coat.
-Once everything is coated, you’re done.


Leave a Reply

