‘Ono Kaukau (Delicious Food), Brah

Location: Oahu, HI

Happy Monday everyone!  I hope you’re all staying warm and safe out there.  It’s pretty stormy out here in San Diego.  Boats are flying onto people’s lawns, trees are toppling over, and outdoor furniture’s being rearranged by Mother Nature.  That El Niño, I tell ya.  With all that going on, how about I take you back to good ‘ole tropical Hawaii?  Well, it was kind of stormy out there too, but what the heck?  Hawaii always sounds tropical and makes you think of sunshine, right? Here are some notable food mentions:

20150905_20003020150905_193753

Like that little kid in the doorway?  He was so cute.  His dad took him on a dinner date to let his mom have the night off.  How sweet is that?!?!?! For some odd reason, I had an immense craving for sushi the first night that we were there.  The ocean and fresh seafood may have had something to do with it – I don’t know?  Again…not pregnant! We didn’t want to go to a big, fancy restaurant or somewhere that was too commercialized, so we Googled some local spots.  Hawaii Sushi had 4.5 stars out of 5 on Yelp, and it wasn’t too far from where we were at, so Hawaii Sushi it was.  We headed out towards the Diamond Head area on Monsarrat Avenue.  It’s a cute little area but most of it was already closing down when were there.  If you’re ever there, you should check it out for me and let me know what you think.  Check out Hawaii Sushi and let me know what you think as well.  I really liked it and would definitely go back again.  It’s a small little restaurant in a shopping center but don’t let that fool you.  It gets pretty busy in there.

20150905_194606

20150905_194553

I’m huge on spicy food and nothing tastes normal to me unless it has some spice, so of course I went for the spicy rolls.  Everything was pretty much under $10 so we went for it (went for it as in more than 3 rolls).  I can only handle about 1 1/2 rolls than I’m stuffed… then hungry again in about 30 min.  Oh the struggle!  We had the Lava Tube, Crunchy Lava Rock, Spicy Ahi Jalapeño, and Hamachi Jalapeño. Man oh man was it good, or ‘Ono!  Drooling right now!

We bought a GoOahu pass from Groupon and that ended up being the smartest money saver for us.  So many things to do on there that we were going to be doing anyway.  We should’ve bought it earlier on, however we still saved a ton of money using it.  The Makani Catamaran Dinner cruise was on the pass, so we signed up for it not really knowing what to expect.  Long story short, it is not a dress up dinner cruise (we were dressed casually, however the people that did dress up were not comfortable at all), be prepared to drink some alcoholic beverages (I believe it came with 1 or 2 free drink tickets, it was the bartender’s birthday too so you know how that goes…), and grab a nice spot by the rails so you can catch the fireworks show (if you’re going on a Friday).  I was too busy eating so I didn’t get any pictures of the food or fireworks.  They served a Chinese food buffet, and my was it good.

20150910_194452

Last but not least, is….wait for it…..wait for it….. the famous Leonard’s Bakery!  Home of the famous Malasadas (Portuguese Donuts).  It’s been around since 1952, has been mentioned in several magazine articles, and has been on the Food Network.  We got there at night and man was it packed.  There’s all sorts of goodies sold here.  Memorabilia, T-Shirts, pastries, etc, however the Malasadas are the most popular.  You can get them plain, dipped in cinnamon and sugar, stuffed, etc.  It’s best served warm though.  I ate mine way too fast.  I know, I’m terrible at this food picture stuff.  Working on it – Picture first, eat second.  When you’re #hangry, you don’t think and you just eat!

I hope you all feel a little warmer and decide to give these Hawaiian local spots a try.  I don’t know about you all, but I’m getting hungry just sitting here writing about this, so Peace Out and I’ll catch you on the flip side.  Food time here I go…… Aloha!


Leave a Reply

