Sweet & Spicy Pork Chops

Hi Friends!  Life has come back into full swing, since the little man is back.  He definitely came back looking like he grew up a whole bunch over the 4 days.  I’m sure he didn’t but it sure feels like it.  Wah wah wah!

C Man Eating His Veggies
C Man Eating His Veggies
Guess the food's good because he's demolishing it.
Guess the food’s good because he’s demolishing it.

On another note…. The real reason I come to you today is because I found a nice looking picture of some glazed pork chops on Pinterest.  It totally suits my wants, needs, and cravings (no, I’m not pregnant) today, because I defrosted some pork chops last night, I have all the ingredients, and wait for it, wait for it……I totally want some pork chops.  The pin took me over to Beth’s blog, called Budget Bytes.  

I totally scored on this recipe because it’s gluten-free.  I haven’t been diagnosed with gluten sensitivity, intolerance, or anything to that extent, however, I do get a funny tickle in my throat and have a hard time breathing when I eat food with gluten.  We’ll see how this goes…

The recipe calls for pork chops, brown sugar, cayenne powder (I used cayenne pepper.  Not sure if that makes a difference?), garlic powder (I used Granulated Garlic), salt, and pepper.  I love garlic and put it in just about everything I cook, so I’m going to add a clove of minced garlic as well.

Brown Sugar Seasoning
Brown Sugar Seasoning
IMG_20141025_202910
Pork Chops

First you will need to heat up some olive oil in an oven proof pan/skillet, over medium-high heat, and preheat the oven to 350°F.   I like to use my Lodge Cast Iron Skillet.  I think that if the Pioneer Woman loves it, there must be something to it.  Who knows?!?  Next, combine all of the ingredients, except the pork chops.

Brown Sugar Seasoning
Brown Sugar Seasoning

Then you’ll rub the brown sugar seasoning onto both sides of the pork chops, and place the chops in the skillet for about 5 minutes each side or until browned.  My skillet only fit 2, so if you don’t have the time to make 2 at a time, you’ll need a bigger skillet.

Seasoned Pork Chops
Seasoned Pork Chops

After that, place the pork chops in the preheated oven and cook for about 5 more minutes.  This is to ensure that the chops are cooked all the way through, since they are thick cuts.  You’ll notice that the brown sugar has further caramelized and that makes for a great glaze.  Grab a brush and just start glazing away on the pork chops.

Brown sugar is caramelized and ready to be glazed.
Brown sugar is caramelized and ready to be glazed.

Voila!!!  This is the end product.  I hope you all give it a whirl and enjoy it as much as I’m hoping I will too.

Sweet & Spicy Pork Chops
Sweet & Spicy Pork Chops

Here is the Recipe:

Sweet & Spicy Pork Chops 

Ingredients:

4 Thick Cut Pork Chops                    1/2 Tsp. Paprika

1/4 C. Dark Brown Sugar                  1/2 Tsp. Salt

1/2 Tsp. Cayenne Pepper                  1/2 Tsp. Pepper

1/2 Tsp. Granulated Garlic              1 Clove of Garlic

Directions:

  • Preheat over to 350 degrees.  In a bowl, combine all ingredients except the pork chops.
  • Rub the Brown Sugar Seasoning Mix onto both sides of the pork chops and let sit for about 5 minutes to absorb seasoning.
  • Heat olive oil in an oven-proof skillet over medium-high heat.  Add the pork chops and let cook for about 5 minutes each side or until browned.
  • Place skillet in oven and let cook for about 5 more minutes or until fully cooked.
  • Once fully cooked, removed pork chops from the oven and brush the caramelized brown sugar seasoning over the pork chops.

Servings: 4 Prep Time: 7 Minutes Cook Time: 15 Minutes

 

 

 

 


Leave a Reply

